Home   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
Excellence Award

The TTPOA is accepting nominations for the TTPOA Excellence Award. This award is given to a member or members of the Association whose outstanding efforts or actions have brought credit to their own team, the TTPOA, or the tactical profession in general for the nominating year.

Nominations may be made by any member of the Association in good standing, and should be in the form of a letter naming the person being nominated, with a description of the reasons for nomination.

Purpose: To recognize a member or members of the organization that have given generously of his or her time and/or accomplished great things in the tactical community. The name "excellence" represents the quality of his or her work and/or the accomplishments they have achieved.

Eligibility: This award is intended for active members in good standing with the association, unless the board allows an exception of eligibility.

Description: The award is a plaque or trophy to be decided by members of the Board. On the award will appear the name of the recipient, the year, and the award description.

If the Board selects a member or members to receive this award, it will be presented at the annual conference awards dinner. However, there is no mandate to issue this award every year. If there are no deserving nominations within a calendar year, the award will simply not be issued. The recipient(s) will not be notified of their award so that it may remain a surprise. The Board may, at it's discretion, make arrangements to have the recipient(s) present at the dinner so that they will have an opportunity to receive the award in person.

Nomination process: The board will announce that it is accepting nominations for this award in the summer issue of Command magazine and on the Web Site. The board can only accept nominations in writing from active members, including board members. The President or his/her designee will compile the nominations in presentation folders for review by the Advisory Board at the Spring board meeting. The President or his/her designee will review the folders to ensure accuracy.

Selection process: The Advisory Board will review the nominations during the "Spring board meeting" and select any worthy nominees. The Advisory Board will report their findings to the Board and these findings will remain secret until it can be presented at the Awards Dinner. If the Advisory Board does not select any of the nominees, the nominations for that calendar year will be quashed and the award will not be presented.

The deadline to submit a nomination is March 23, 2012.  Nominations should be mailed to:

C/O Excellence Award
PO Box 1283
Houston, TX 77251



Michael Munday - Fort Worth PD - 2008

2007 - No nominations submitted

Steve Claggett - Dallas PD - 2006

Terry Nichols - San Marcos PD,  David Burns - Hays County SO,  John Curnutt - San Marcos PD - 2005

Dan Severn - College Station PD - 2004

Shannon Couch - Abilene PD - 2003

John Dombrowa - Pasadena PD - 2002

Rafael Perea - Abilene PD - 2001

Sandy Wall - Houston PD & Paul Ford - Austin PD - 2000

more Calendar

11/19/2018 » 11/20/2018
Team Building Exercise

11/26/2018 » 11/30/2018
Night Vision Instructor

Featured Members

Online Surveys
TTPOA Home Privacy Policy Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

About the TTPOA

The TTPOA (Texas Tactical Police Officers Association) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, dedicated to the pursuit of excellence for SWAT units, fostering the exchange of information between agencies and members, creation of standards of training and to create & provide affordable training resources for tactical officers and teams.
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal